Helping Colorado’s accident
victims for over 25 years.

Denver Wrongful Death Attorney

Losing somebody that you care about is incredibly challenging, and families in these situations will undoubtedly be going through the emotional processes of grieving and adjusting to new circumstances. This is particularly true for those who lose a loved one unexpectedly due to the careless or negligent actions of another individual, business, or entity. At The O’Sullivan Law Firm, we are here to help if you need a Denver personal injury attorney by your side. Our team will fully investigate the circumstances surrounding your loved one’s death in an effort to determine liability and help you secure the compensation and closure you are entitled to.

Why Choose The O’Sullivan Law Firm for Help?

  • At The O’Sullivan Law Firm, we are a full-service law firm. This means that we handle every aspect of your case, including investigating the incident, determining liability, negotiating with other parties, and going to trial, if necessary.
  • We have a success rate of 99 percent for our cases, and we have successfully concluded more than 2,000 cases since 2008.
  • We take wrongful death cases on a contingency fee basis, which means that our clients will not have to worry about legal fees until after we obtain the compensation they are entitled to.

Denver Wrongful Death Resources & FAQs

How Will a Wrongful Death Attorney in Denver Help Your Claim?

Wrongful death claims in Denver can become incredibly challenging, particularly for family members who do not have much legal expertise or resources. An attorney will level the playing field and be the powerhouse behind grieving family members as they stand up to the individual(s) who caused their loved one’s death. An attorney can use their resources to:

  • Conduct a complete investigation into the incident and uncover any evidence needed to prove liability.
  • Consult with trusted economic and financial experts who can properly calculate the family’s total expected losses.
  • Handle negotiations with other parties involved, including aggressive insurance carriers, in an effort to secure full compensation for family members.

How Do Wrongful Death Claims in Denver Arise?

When we look at the law regarding wrongful death cases in Colorado, we can see that wrongful death is defined as a death caused by “a wrongful act, negligent, or default of another” individual or entity.

There are various ways that these claims can arise. At The O’Sullivan Law Firm, our personal injury lawyers regularly help family members of those who have lost a loved one due to the following:

  • Vehicle accidents
  • Commercial truck accidents
  • Motorcycle accidents
  • Drunk driving accidents
  • Marijuana DUI accidents
  • Bicycle accidents
  • Pedestrian accidents
  • Scooter accidents
  • Defective product cases
  • Vibrio vulnificus cases

Our team is standing by to help family members in these situations. If you are unsure of whether or not we will be able to help you with your case, please contact one of our attorneys for a free consultation as soon as possible. We will examine the facts of the claim and help determine the best steps moving forward.

Establishing Negligence in a Denver Wrongful Death Claim

After a wrongful death lawsuit has been filed, the plaintiffs in the case (the estate representative or family members) will still have to prove various elements of negligence before any damages can be awarded. In order to prove that a defendant was negligent, the following elements need to be in place:

  • Duty of care. It needs to be shown that the defendant owed some sort of duty of care to the deceased person. For example, in the case of a vehicle accident, the plaintiff must show that the defendant had an obligation to obey the rules of the road and to operate their vehicle carefully to ensure the safety of others. For death caused by a premises liability incident, it will need to be shown that the property owner owed a duty of care to the individual who was harmed on the property.
  • Breach of duty. After a duty of care has been established, it needs to be shown that the defendant somehow breached their duty of care. Following the car accident situation mentioned above, it will need to be shown that the defendant failed to obey an applicable traffic law (i.e. operated well impaired, speeding, running a stop sign, etc.).
  • Causation. Even after it has been shown the defendant breached their duty of care, it needs to be shown that this breach somehow led directly to the death of the plaintiff.
  • Damages. Finally, it needs to be shown that the estate of the deceased and the family members sustained some sort of monetary or quantifiable non-monetary loss.

Types of Benefits for a Denver Wrongful Death Claim

Family members may be entitled to various types of compensation after losing a loved one due to the negligence, or reckless actions, of another party. In general, we will break the damages awarded down into two categories: economic and non-economic.

Economic damages are those paid to the deceased’s surviving family members and their estate to cover the financial losses associated with the death. Some of the most common types of economic damages awarded in these situations include the following:

  • Funeral and burial expenses
  • Benefits lost as a result of the death, including life insurance
  • Wages and benefits that the deceased would have likely earned if they had lived
  • Medical bills the deceased incurred before death

Non-economic damages can be more challenging to quantify because they deal with the intangible losses suffered by the deceased’s family as a result of the death. Some of the most common non-economic damages awarded in these situations include compensation for:

  • Pain and suffering
  • Emotional distress
  • Loss of companionship, care, comfort, and guidance of the deceased
  • Loss of consortium for a spouse

Who Can File a Wrongful Death Claim in Colorado?

Colorado law determines who is able to file a wrongful death claim. The law also has stipulations about who can file based on how soon after the death has occurred.

In the first year following a person’s death, only the deceased’s surviving spouse is allowed to file a wrongful death lawsuit. However, there are some exceptions to this. The surviving spouse may choose to allow the deceased’s children to file the claim or join with the deceased’s children in filing the claim. If the deceased was unmarried at the time of their death, then the deceased’s children or designated beneficiary will be allowed to file a wrongful death lawsuit.

In the second year following the deceased’s death, any of the following parties are allowed to file a wrongful death lawsuit:

  • The spouse of the deceased
  • Surviving children of the deceased
  • The spouse and the deceased’s children
  • Any eligible designated beneficiary of the deceased and the deceased’s children

What if the Decedent was Partially Responsible?

One of the most common defenses a person accused of causing a wrongful death will use will be to try to lay some or all of the responsibility for the death on the deceased individual. This is not uncommon to how things happen in a personal injury case. Often, the person accused of causing the injury will try to shift fault to the injury victim to limit how much money they have to pay in compensation.

Colorado operates under something called the “modified comparative negligence” system. Under this type of system, a person partially responsible for causing their injury can still receive compensation so long as they are not more than 50% responsible for the incident. However, the total amount of compensation they receive will be reduced based on their percentage of fault. We will also see this type of system play out for wrongful death claims.

If a person has lost their life due to the negligence of another individual, but they were also partially responsible, their family members and estate may receive reduced compensation based on this partial fault. For example, if a person loses their life in a vehicle accident and they are found to have been 30% responsible for the incident, the total compensation will be reduced by 30%. So, let us suppose that a family is awarded $1,000,000 in total compensation for what happened. This would then be reduced by $300,000 to reach a total of $700,000.

Time Limit to File a Wrongful Death Claim

Families in Colorado need to be aware they have a limited amount of time to file these claims in court. The Colorado wrongful death statute of limitations is two years from the date of the deceased’s death. If family members fail to file their claim within this two-year window, they will lose the ability to recover the compensation they are entitled to.

However, there are some exceptions to this two-year rule. If a person loses their life in a vehicle accident, the wrongful death statute of limitations is extended to three years from the date of the accident or the discovery of the injury from the vehicle accident that caused the death. Additionally, if the defendant in the case attempts to hide any facts or evidence so that the cause of the death cannot be discovered, this two-year statute of limitations may also be extended.

Call a Denver Wrongful Death Lawyer Today

If you have lost a loved one due to the careless or negligent actions of somebody else, please seek legal assistance as soon as possible. At The O’Sullivan Law Firm, our team has extensive experience handling complex wrongful death cases throughout Colorado, and we understand what it takes to help grieving families secure the closure and compensation they need. We will not hesitate to stand up to aggressive insurance carriers or at-fault parties in these situations. When you need a Denver wrongful death lawyer, you can contact us online for a free consultation or call us at (303) 388-5304.

Free Consultation

  • All fields required
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.